Cricket: James Anderson, Hashim Amla and Michael Clarke vying for 2 top ICC awards

MUMBAI (AFP) - England's James Anderson, South Africa's Hashim Amla and Australia's Michael Clarke are nominated for top honours in this year's International Cricket Council awards, it was announced today.

The trio will vie for both the cricketer of the year and Test player of the year categories, according to a short-list released by the ICC in Mumbai.

Others nominated for the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for cricketer of the year are England captain Alastair Cook, India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Kumar Sangakkara of Sri Lanka.

In the category of Test player of the year, the other nominees are South Africa's Dale Steyn and the Indian duo of Ravichandran Ashwin and Cheteshwar Pujara.

The short-list in 10 award categories was drawn up by a 32-person panel comprising former players and representatives from the media, match referees and umpires.

The awards are based solely on performances over a 12-month period that ended on Aug 25, 2013 and included the World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka, the Champions Trophy in England and the women's World Cup in India.

Cricketers receiving the highest number of votes from the panel will be judged the winners and the results will be announced on a TV show to be broadcast on Dec 14.

The ICC also announced Dhoni as the winner of the People's Choice award voted online by fans. He was also named captain of the ICC's one-day team of the year while Cook was chosen to lead the Test team of the year.

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.