Canoeing: Tay, Lightning Kayaking Club fastest in final day of National Canoe Sprint Championships 2017

SINGAPORE - National paddler Tay Zi Qiang won the Senior Men's Kayak Singles 200m race at the 2017 National Canoe Sprint Championships on Sunday (June 4).

He crossed the finish line in 42.37sec, ahead of Jasmond Tan (43.07sec) and Chan Chin Hin (43.82sec).

In the Senior Men's Kayak Quartets 200m race, Lightning Kayaking Club's Jasmond Tan, Julian Seow, Bill Lee and Jack Benjamin Smith paddled home in first place (34.42sec), followed by Nanyang Technological University's Lawrence Lau, Collin Tan, Goh Jun Yong and Bryan Loy (35.25sec) and Temasek Polytechnic's Daniel Koh, Jarret Ng, Sean Teo and Seetoh Kian Wai (35.51sec).

Held at MacRitchie Reservoir over two days (June 3-4), the 40th edition of the championships introduced two new races (Junior Kayak Singles 2,000m and Paracanoe Kayak Singles 200m) aimed at developing young paddlers and para-athletes.