Two Ministers of State sworn in by President


Two Ministers of State formally took up their new posts yesterday when they were sworn in at the Istana, completing Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong's team for the new term of government. They are Dr Koh Poh Koon (left) and Dr Janil Puthucheary (far left), both of whom are medical doctors and aged 43. Both started work last Friday. Dr Koh's portfolios are Trade and Industry as well as National Development, while Dr Janil's portfolios are Education as well as Communications and Information.     The two men took their oaths before President Tony Tan Keng Yam, witnessed by PM Lee and their family members. Dr Koh's wife and two daughters, as well as Dr Janil's wife and parents, attended the ceremony.     Separately, the President reappointed some members of the Council of Presidential Advisers yesterday for the next four years. Mr Bobby Chin, chairman of NTUC Fairprice Cooperative, was named a member again, while senior international adviser to Singbridge Group Lim Chee Onn and Singapore Airlines chairman Stephen Lee were reappointed as alternate members.

A version of this article appeared in the print edition of The Straits Times on January 06, 2016, with the headline 'Two Ministers of State sworn in by President'. Print Edition | Subscribe