S'pore Poly chairman and NMP Janet Ang to lead Public Transport Council

Ms Janet Ang is replacing the late former senior district judge Richard Magnus. ST PHOTO: DESMOND WEE

SINGAPORE - Singapore Polytechnic chairman and Nominated MP Janet Ang has been appointed the new chairman of the Public Transport Council (PTC), becoming the first woman to head the 17-member group which regulates MRT and bus fares.

She replaces former senior district judge Richard Magnus, whose death of a heart attack in March had left the position vacant.

As PTC chairman, Ms Ang will oversee fare reviews in a post-Covid-19 world, where ridership patterns might be substantially changed.

Transport Minister S. Iswaran on Tuesday (April 26) appointed her, along with 15 other members, to the council for a three-year period from May 1 this year to April 30, 2025.

The Transport Ministry said Ms Ang will continue the legacy of the late Mr Magnus in keeping public transport fares affordable while ensuring the long-term financial sustainability of the public transport system.

Apart from being Singapore Polytechnic's chairman, Ms Ang is Singapore's non-resident ambassador to the Vatican and chairman of the National University of Singapore Institute of Systems Science and Sistic.com

She holds positions on various boards, foundations and councils.

Formerly IBM's vice-president for Asia-Pacific, she spent 10 years on international assignments in Tokyo and Beijing.

Of the 15 members appointed to the PTC on the same day, five are new, replacing five members who have all served at least two terms.

The PTC comprises leaders in academic institutions, business, grassroots organisations, labour unions and professional services.

The five newly appointed members are:

- Ms Ku Geok Boon, chief executive of SG Enable;

- Mr Benny Lee, principal private secretary to Singapore's president;

- Mr Mak Mun Whai, general secretary of the National Transport Workers' Union;

- Mr Naseer Ghani, chairman of the West Coast Community Club Indian Activity Executive Committee; and

- Mr Tan Soo Nan, executive and non-independent director of Raffles Medical Group and Raffles Health Insurance.

They replace:

- Ms Chua Lee Hoong, senior director of the Resilience Policy and Research Centre in the Prime Minister's Office - National Security Coordination Secretariat;

- Ms Anne Chua, chief financial officer of Daiwa House Asset Management Asia;

- Mr Adrian Chua, deputy secretary for industry at the Ministry of Trade and Industry;

- Mr Fang Chin Poh, a former general secretary of the National Transport Workers' Union; and

- Dr Kwoh Chee Keong, chairman of Keat Hong Citizens Consultative Committee.

The other 11 members of the new PTC are:

- Mr Abdullah Shafiie Mohamed Sidik, chairman of the Siglap South Community Centre management committee;

- Dr Lynette Cheah, associate professor of engineering systems at Singapore University of Technology and Design;

- Dr Vincent Chua, retired associate professor at the Singapore University of Social Sciences;

- Ms Lee Huay Leng, editor-in-chief of the Chinese Media Group at SPH Media;

- Mr Lim Bok Ngam, member of the development project advisory panel at the Ministry of Finance;

- Mr Lim Boon Wee, deputy secretary for services at the Ministry of Education;

- Ms Nadia Ahmad Samdin, an associate director at TSMP Law Corp;

- Mr Tan Kim Hong, PTC chief executive;

- Associate Professor Patricia Tan, from the division of accounting at Nanyang Business School in Nanyang Technological University;

- Mr Thuvinder Singh Bachan Singh, general secretary of the Union of Telecoms Employees of Singapore; and

- Mr Yeo Teck Guan, senior group director for public transport at the Land Transport Authority.

In its statement announcing the appointments, the Transport Ministry also paid tribute to Mr Magnus, who was PTC chairman from May 1, 2014, until his death on March 14, for spearheading major reviews of the public transport fare formula to better reflect growing network capacity and changing ridership.

Between 2012 and 2013, he led the fare review mechanism committee, which eventually introduced two new concession schemes for low-wage workers and people with disabilities.

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.