Some MRT stations on NSL to close earlier or open later

Selected MRT stations on the North-South Line (NSL) will experience early closures and late openings this month and the next to facilitate power supply system renewal and maintenance works.

SMRT yesterday said from Aug 24 to Sept 1, six stations between Bukit Batok and Marsiling will open later, at 8am, on weekends.

From Sept 6 to 28, four stations between Bukit Batok and Yew Tee will close earlier, at 11pm, on selected Fridays and Saturdays.

This will allow SMRT to extend its engineering hours to carry out viaduct bearing replacement and installation of 22kV cables as part of the power supply system renewal works.

To facilitate alternative travel arrangements, shuttle bus service 4 will be available. The buses will stop at designated bus stops near the affected train stations.

Commuters have been advised to plan ahead as the timing of the last trains at each station will vary.

SMRT has also advised commuters to check its website at, social media platforms and the SMRTConnect app for updates.

Clara Chong

A version of this article appeared in the print edition of The Straits Times on August 14, 2019, with the headline 'Some MRT stations on NSL to close earlier or open later'. Print Edition | Subscribe