6 new members appointed to board of Land Transport Authority

The six new LTA board members are (clockwise from top left) Mr Mohd Sa'at Abdul Rahman; Ms Fiona Chan Su-Min; Mr Cheong Chee Hoo; Mr Melvin Yong; Mr Edwin Tong and Prof Tan Thiam Soon. PHOTOS: ST FILE, BERITA HARIAN, FACEBOOK, NTUC, KENG PHOTOGRAPHY

SINGAPORE - Six new members have joined the Land Transport Authority's (LTA) board, said the Ministry of Transport on Thursday (Aug 31).

The six are:

  • Berita Harian editor Mohd Sa'at Abdul Rahman;
  • Singapore Press Holdings' head of media strategy and analytics Fiona Chan Su-Min;
  • DSO National Laboratories CEO Cheong Chee Hoo;
  • Singapore Institute of Technology president Tan Thiam Soon;
  • Allen & Gledhill LLP partner Edwin Tong;
  • National Transport Workers' Union executive secretary Melvin Yong.

They will join eight returning members, including LTA chairman Alan Chan, for a three-year term starting Sept 1.

All 14 were appointed by Coordinating Minister for Infrastructure and Minister for Transport Khaw Boon Wan.

LTA chief executive Ngien Hoon Ping, who was re-appointed as a board member in an ex-officio capacity from Nov 12 last year, is the board's 15th member.

Meanwhile, six members will step down from the board. They are:

  • Mr Alwi Abdul Hafiz, sustainability advisor of Golden Veroleum Liberia and director/co-founder of Intuitif Technologies Pte Ltd;
  • Mr Chong Keng Cheen, vice-president of Shell Lubricants APMESA, Shell Eastern Petroleum (Pte) Ltd;
  • Mr Chua Chim Kang, Lianhe Wanbao editor and managing editor (Chinese radio) of SPH's Chinese Media Group;
  • Ms Ellen Lee, a consultant at Belinda Ang Tang and Partners;
  • Mr Patrick Tay, NTUC assistant secretary-general;
  • Professor Yong Kwet Yew, vice-president (campus infrastructure) at the National University of Singapore.

Correction note: In an earlier version of this story the name of Mr Alwi Abdul Hafiz was spelt incorrectly. We are sorry for the error.

Join ST's WhatsApp Channel and get the latest news and must-reads.