Seven new council members appointed to the National Council on Problem Gambling

The Ministry of Social and Family Development announced on Friday changes to the council membership of the National Council on Problem Gambling. Seven new members have been appointed and will serve a two-year term from Aug 31.

They were drawn from diverse fields such as psychiatry, psychology, social services, legal, rehabilitative services and counselling. The new members are: Singapore Buddhist Federation's chief executive Kua Soon Khe, Watson, Farley and Williams' lawyer Amrin Amin, Association for Professionals Specialising in Addiction Counselling's executive secretary Annie Lee, Taoist Federation's vice president Ling Kin Huat, Meishin International's company director Teo Lin Lee, Singcorp International's director P Thirunal Karasu and the National University of Singapore's Dean at the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences Professor Brenda Yeoh.

The new 16-member council will continue to be chaired by Mr Lim Hock San, the president and chief executive of United Industrial Corporation. The council provides advice and feedback to the Government on problem gambling issues and implements preventive and public education programmes. It also oversees the application and execution of casino exclusions and casino visit limits.

Nine members have been reappointed for a further two-year term while four members will be retiring from the council.

Join ST's WhatsApp Channel and get the latest news and must-reads.