Sembawang-Nee Soon Town Council to split into two

The Sembawang-Nee Soon Town Council will be splitting into two separate entities from April 1.

A statement made by the council on Tuesday attributed the split to the "rapid expansion" of both estates in the past two years, noting that they will expand more in coming years.

"It is therefore timely to have two separate town councils to manage the HDB estates

more efficiently," it said.

Both Sembawang and Nee Soon GRCs now have 129,400 HDB housing units and nearly half a million residents.

The council added that both entities will continue work together on joint tenders to enjoy bulk discounts, and share ideas and practices.

It assured that the split will not disrupt operations, nor its services such as booking of facilities, handling of feedback, and payment of service and conservancy charges.

The split of the town council, which oversees ten wards altogether, means that the recently expanded Aljunied-Hougang-Punggol East Town Council, together with Ang Mo Kio Town Council, will be the biggest town councils, each overseeing seven wards.

Join ST's WhatsApp Channel and get the latest news and must-reads.