New members appointed to Data Protection Advisory Committee

SINGAPORE - Six more members have been appointed to the Data Protection Advisory Committee (DPAC).

They come from the banking, healthcare, IT, social services, public and academic sectors.

The new members complement six existing members by providing perspectives from the different sectors they come from, the Personal Data Protection Commission said in statement on Wednesday.

They advise the Commission on matters relating to areas of policy, as well as the review of key policy and enforcement issues under the Personal Data Protection Act.

The new DPAC members, who will serve a two-year term, are:

1. Mr Effendy Ibrahim

Senior Director, RTM & Channel Marketing, Asia-Pacific & Japan, Symantec Corporation

2. Mr Hui Choon Kuen

Deputy Chief Counsel Advisory (Civil Division), Attorney General Chambers and Dean of the AGC Academy

3. Mr Lam Chee Kin, Group Head of Compliance, DBS

4. Associate Professor Low Cheng Ooi

Chief Medical Informatics Officer, Ministry of Health and Ministry of Health Holdings

5. Professor Steven Miller

Vice Provost (Research) and Dean of School of Information Systems, Singapore Management University

6. Ms Tina Hung

Deputy Chief Executive Officer and Group Director, Service Planning and Development, National Council of Social Service.

The existing members of the committee are intellectual property consultant Liew Woon Yin, CEO of the Singapore Business Federation Ho Meng Kit, President of the Consumers Association of Singapore Lim Biow Chuan, Managing Partner of Stream Global Lim Chin Hu, NUS law dean Professor Simon Chesterman, and CEO of Spring Singapore Tan Kai Hoe.

Join ST's WhatsApp Channel and get the latest news and must-reads.