New chairman for Traditional Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board

The Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) Practitioners Board will have a new chairman from April 1.

Mrs Yu-Foo Yee Shoon, the former Minister of State for then Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports, will take over from Mr Tay Beng Chuan as its chairman.

Appointed for a close to three-year term, Mrs Yu-Foo is an active member of the Chinese community. She also served as a Member of Parliament for six terms, from 1984 to 2011.

The TCM Practitioners Board, a statutory board under the Ministry of Health, regulates the traditional medicine industry.

Mr Tay has helmed the board for seven years. Under his leadership, the board introduced measures to uplift the standards of its practitioners. These include getting acupuncturists in Singapore to sit for an examination to be registered and providing a roadmap for practitioners to pick up the latest professional knowledge via a voluntary Continuing TCM Education programme.

Join ST's WhatsApp Channel and get the latest news and must-reads.