Musician, filmmaker, businessmen among SG50 committee members

The steering committee planning Singapore's 50th birthday bash will comprise representatives from the public and private sectors, and will include ministers, top music producer Iskandar Ismail and film director Royston Tan.

It will be chaired by Education Minister Heng Swee Keat, and will let Singaporeans have a role in planning and organising activities for the nation's golden jubilee.

"As Singapore turns 50, it will be timely to reflect on who we are and how far we have come as a people", said Mr Heng on Monday, four days after Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong announced the setting up of the Singapore50 (SG50) committee.

"We want every Singaporean to be able to connect through their personal stories with the broader Singapore story, and be a part of the anniversary celebrations.

"We envisage the 2015 calendar to be filled with many ground-up efforts by Singaporeans to mark this important milestone in our history."

The steering committee will be supported by five committees overseeing Education and Youth, Culture and Community, Economic and International, Environment and Infrastructure, and Partnership.

Their task is to engage partners in their respective sectors, to establish programmes that will encourage active community participation and involvement in the activities leading to 2015.


Chairman: Heng Swee Keat, Education Minister

Co-Chairs of Committees:

Grace Fu, Minister in the Prime Minister's Office, Second Minister for the Environment and Water Resources and Second Minister for Foreign Affairs

Indranee Rajah, Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Education and Ministry of Law

Philip Jeyaretnam, Managing Partner at Rodyk & Davidson

Koh Choon Hui, Chairman of the Singapore Children's Society

Dr Loo Choon Yong, Executive Chairman, Raffles Medical Group

Olivia Lum, Executive Chairman and Group Chief Executive Officer, Hyflux

Tai Lee Siang, Immediate Past President, Singapore Green Building Council

Tan Chuan-Jin, Acting Minister for Manpower

Dr Tan Lai Yong, Resident Fellow at College of Alice and Peter Tan, National University of Singapore University Town

Lawrence Wong, Acting Minister for Culture, Community and Youth


Afiqah Nur Fitri Suhaiemi, university undergraduate

Arasu Duraisamy, Central Committee Member, National Trades Union Congress

Chan Chun Sing, Acting Minister for Social and Family Development

Elim Chew, Founder, 77th Street

Lina Chong, Manager of Leadership and Personal Development, Nanyang Polytechnic

Chua Chim Kang, Senior Vice President of Business Development at Singapore Press Holdings

Halimah Yacob, Speaker of Parliament

Iskandar Ismail, music producer and orchestra conductor

Prof Tommy Koh, Ambassador-At-Large

Dr Liang Wern Fook, director of Xue Er You Language Centre

Dr Mansoor Bin Abdul Jalil, Associate Professor at National University of Singapore

Moliah Hashim, Chief Executive Officer of Yayasan Mendaki

Annabel Pennefather, Vice President of the Singapore National Olympic Council

Dr Kanwaljit Soin, Immediate Past President of Wings (Women's Initiative for Ageing Successfully)

Alvin Tan, founder and artistic director of The Necessary Stage

Royston Tan, \film director

Dr Mary Ann Tsao, president of the Tsao Foundation

Dr Yeo Sze Ling, research scientist at the Agency for Science, Technology and Research

Join ST's WhatsApp Channel and get the latest news and must-reads.