MFA appoints new High Commissioners to South Africa, Sri Lanka

SINGAPORE- The Government has appointed new High Commissioners to the Republic of South Africa and the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, said the Ministry of Foreign Affairs on Thursday.

Mr Chua Thai Keong would serve as High Commissioner to South Africa while Mr S Chandra Das would serve as Singapore's Non-Resident High Commissioner to Sri Lanka. Mr Chua joined the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in 1986 and subsequently served as Director (North-east Asia) from August 2002 to April 2006.

He will assume his new post on June 1, 2015.

Mr Das served as Singapore's Ambassador to the Republic of Turkey, resident in Singapore from 2006 to 2015. He had also previously served as Singapore's Trade Representative to the former Soviet Union from 1970 to 1972.

Mr Das was also a Member of Parliament from 1980 to 1996.

He will assume his new position pending his presentation of credentials to Sri Lanka.

Join ST's WhatsApp Channel and get the latest news and must-reads.