Members of 13th National Youth Council announced

The members of the 13th National Youth Council, who will serve a two-year term ending June 30, 2015, was announced on Friday.

Among the 25-strong council are 17 new members from the youth, media, arts, sports, corporate and government sectors, including Ms Serene Goh, the editor of The Straits Times Schools magazines IN and Little Red Dot. The council said in a statement that it hopes the diversity "will strive to facilitate more cross-sector collaboration in nurturing inspired and committed youth for Singapore."

"Our new Council members are already actively involved in youth development in their various fields and endeavours," said council chairman Lawrence Wong, who is also the Acting Minister for Culture, Community and Youth, and Senior Minister of State for Communications and Information.

The new council will focus on the development of young leaders and the youth sector to promote youth volunteerism. It will also grow partnerships to create more opportunities for youths to contribute to causes, so as to achieve sustainable social good.