Inspiring Chinese language teachers recognised for their exemplary work

Nine Chinese language teachers who put in exemplary effort in the teaching of the Chinese language were given awards on Wednesday.

They were picked from 900 nominations made by school principals, teachers, parents and students for this year's 16th Annual Inspiring Chinese Language Teachers Awards.

Four of them are primary school teachers and the other five teach at secondary level.

The event, organised by Lianhe Zaobao and the Singapore Chinese Middle School Foundation, and sponsored by the Lee Foundation, is also to recognise these teachers for inspiring their students to develop an appreciation for Chinese language and culture with their zeal and commitment.

The winners are:

-Yap Kim Hung, Anglo-Chinese School (Junior)

-Koh Wee Mong, CHIJ (Kellock)

-Tay Wan Cheng, Nanyang Primary School

-Li Jing, Xingnan Primary School

-Ong Yi Min, Commonwealth Secondary School

-Yu Xiaoqin, Kuo Chuan Presbyterian Secondary School

-Cao Jinghua, Nanyang Girls' High School

-Tan Pin Yin, Teck Whye Secondary School.

They will each receive a trophy and a cash prize of $500, as well as a specially arranged study trip to China during the December school holidays.

This year's awards presentation will be held in conjunction with the launch of the Singapore Book Fair 2013 on June 5 at Suntec Convention & Exhibition Centre, Hall 401, Level 4. Mr Lawrence Wong, Acting Minister for Culture, Community and Youth and Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Communications and Information will present the awards.

Join ST's WhatsApp Channel and get the latest news and must-reads.