Sixteen organisations and individuals recognised for energy efficient practices

SINGAPORE - Sixteen organisations and individuals were recognised for their contributions towards saving energy, at the Energy Efficiency National Partnership (EENP) Awards on Tuesday.

Speaking at the award ceremony, Dr Amy Khor, Senior Minister of State for the Environment and Water Resources, noted that the nature of the projects submitted for the awards has changed since the EENP Awards were started in 2011.

Instead of making improvements to common utilities such as cooling systems, organisations have taken a step further to relook their production processes, such as reducing their demand for services such as heating.

"This is a good sign, as it shows that more companies are looking into optimising their production processes and reducing waste, to unlock the energy savings potential," she said.

"It is also heartening to note that some of these projects were undertaken in-house."

Among them was lighting maker Lumileds Singapore, which was recognised for reducing its energy intensity by 64 per cent from 2011 to 2014.

The company targets to further cut its energy intensity by 5 to 8 per cent each year and is also in the midst of replacing all the lightbulbs across its plant to energy-efficient ones.

Keppel District Heating and Cooling Systems (DHCS) on the other hand has saved 14,283 megawatt hours of energy since 2010, which translates to a reduction of 8,577 tonnes of carbon dioxide.

The company achieved its results by outlining a 10-year energy efficiency road map, and recently set up of a new research and development division to test and evaluate energy-efficient technology.

Both companies were recognised in the Excellence in Energy Management category.

The three other categories under the EENP Awards are Best Practices; Outstanding Energy Managers of the Year and Best Energy Effiency Practices in the Public Sector.

This is the fifth year of the EENP Awards organised by the National Environment Agency (NEA), the Economic Development Board and the Energy Market Authority.

Mr Ronnie Tay, chief executive of NEA said: "Through this award, NEA hopes to inspire other like-minded organisations and individuals to focus on strategies and solutions that can help their organisations' operations to be more energy efficient."