Lee Kuan Yew Scholarship 2015 open for applications on Nov 13

SINGAPORE - The 2015 Lee Kuan Yew Scholarship is open for applications from Nov 13 to Dec 26, said the Public Service Division (PSD) on Tuesday.

Applicants, who must be Singapore citizens, will be assessed based on their academic achievements, and track record of leadership and service within or beyond their profession, among other things.

Scholarship holders can pursue postgraduate studies overseas or locally to develop their potential as leaders in their respective fields. There are no restrictions on the course of study.

The Lee Kuan Yew Scholarship was set up in 1991 by the Tanjong Pagar Citizens' Consultative Committee, with funding from the public, to commemorate the contributions of former Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew.

To date, 48 Singaporeans have been awarded it to pursue disciplines such as law, business management, life sciences and music.

While there is no bond, scholarship holders are expected to contribute actively towards the betterment of Singapore, Singaporeans and the community.

From 13 November 2014, applicants can download the application form at http://www.pscscholarships.gov.sg/lky.html. The completed document should be sent to applications@psd.gov.sg by 26 December 2014, 5pm, PSD said.

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.