When politicians cross the line

(From left) WP Non-Constituency MP Leon Perera, People's Action Party MP Sin Boon Ann (Tampines GRC) and Former Speaker Tan Soo Khoon (East Coast GRC). PHOTO: LIANHE WANBAO/ALPHONSUS CHERN/BUSINESS TIMES
New: Gift this subscriber-only story to your friends and family

While rarely used, the Parliament (Privileges, Immunities and Powers) Act introduced in 1962 has had one revision - in 1986 following several breaches of privilege by the late Workers' Party (WP) chief J.B. Jeyaretnam that same year.

The Anson MP was referred to the Committee of Privileges four times - once in 1982 and three times in 1986 - having accused the Government of tampering with the judiciary on multiple occasions, and the police of abusing their powers of detention.

Already a subscriber? 

Read the full story and more at $9.90/month

Get exclusive reports and insights with more than 500 subscriber-only articles every month

Unlock these benefits

  • All subscriber-only content on ST app and straitstimes.com

  • Easy access any time via ST app on 1 mobile device

  • E-paper with 2-week archive so you won't miss out on content that matters to you

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.

A version of this article appeared in the print edition of The Sunday Times on March 11, 2018, with the headline When politicians cross the line. Subscribe