GE2015: PAP wins in 15 of 16 GRCs; Workers' Party retains Aljunied GRC

PAP supporters carrying PM Lee Hsien Loong in celebration at Toa Payoh Stadium on Sept 12, 2015.
PAP supporters carrying PM Lee Hsien Loong in celebration at Toa Payoh Stadium on Sept 12, 2015.ST PHOTO: JAMIE KOH

SINGAPORE - The People's Action Party (PAP) has won all but one of the 16 Group Representation Constituencies (GRCs) this election.

The ruling party improved on its result in all constituencies, with its closest win in East Coast GRC still a comfortable 60.7 per cent.

All in, PAP MPs will fill 83 of the 89 seats in the next Parliament.

The Workers' Party (WP) retained Aljunied GRC, but with a far slimmer vote margin than in 2011. The WP retains six seats in Parliament - five in Aljunied GRC and one in Hougang SMC.

In Aljunied GRC, the WP team of party chief Low Thia Khiang, chairman Sylvia Lim, Mr Chen Show Mao, Mr Pritam Singh and Mr Faisal Abdul Manap won with just 50.95 per cent of the vote against a PAP team comprising Mr Yeo Guat Kwang, Mr Victor Lye, Mr K. Muralidharan, Mr Chua Eng Leong and Mr Shamsul Kamar.

The PAP team polled 49.05 per cent.

The margin is 2,612 votes.

In the last election in 2011, WP wrested Aljunied from PAP with 54.7 per cent of the vote.

The votes for the opposition-held ward came in at only 3.10am after a recount requested by the PAP team. Recounts are permitted only if the difference in votes is equal to or less than 2 per cent of the total number of valid votes cast.

The 15 GRCs won by the PAP are Ang Mo Kio, Bishan-Toa Payoh, Chua Chu Kang, East Coast, Holland-Bukit Timah, Jalan Besar, Jurong, Marine Parade, Marsiling-Yew Tee, Nee Soon, Pasir Ris-Punggol, Sembawang, Tanjong Pagar, Tampines, West Coast.

Jurong GRC, helmed by Deputy Prime Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam, garnered the highest vote share of 79.3 per cent against a Singaporeans First (SingFirst) team.

DPM Tharman's team, which also comprised Ang Wei Neng, Desmond Lee, Rahayu Mahzam, Tan Wu Meng, got 95,080 of the votes. The SingFirst team of Tan Peng Ann, David Foo, Sukdeu Singh, Wong Chee Wai and Wong Soon Hong got 24,848 or 20.7 per cent of the votes.

Five GRCs scored above 75 per cent - Jurong, Ang Mo Kio, West Coast, Tanjong Pagar and Chua Chu Kang.

The second highest PAP win among the GRCs, against a Refom Party team, was 78.6 per cent in Ang Mo Kio. Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong's constituency saw the PAP's largest win in the 2011 election with a 69.3 per cent vote share.

Its 2015 poll result improved upon that by 9.3 percentage points.

Jurong GRC, which polled 67 per cent in 2011, saw a 12.3 percentage point swing towards the PAP this election.

The largest vote swing was in Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC, where PAP won with 73.6 per cent - 16.7 percentage points more than the 2011 result of 56.9 per cent.

The PAP Bishan-Toa Payoh team of Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen, Senior Minister of State Josephine Teo as well as new faces Chee Hong Tat, Chong Kee Hiong and Saktiandi Supaat beat the Singapore People's Party team of Mr Law Kim Hwee, Mr Bryan Long, Mr Abdillah Zamzuri, Mr Hamim Aliyas and Mr Benjamin Pwee, which polled 26.4 per cent.

In all, nine GRCs polled above 70 per cent, and six won with more than 60 per cent of the vote. The GRCs that won with less than 70 per cent were contested by the WP and the Singapore Democratic Party.

In the GRC with the narrowest win, East Coast, the PAP team led by Manpower Minister Lim Swee Say, won with 60.7 per cent against a WP team led by Non-Constituency MP Gerald Giam in what had been touted to be a close contest.

The PAP team, which also included Mr Lee Yi Shyan, Dr Mohamad Maliki Osman and Ms Jessica Tan, got 54,981 of the votes. The WP team of Mr Giam, Mr Daniel Goh, Mr Mohamed Fairoz Shariff and Mr Leon Perera got 35,547, or 39.3 per cent, of the votes.

See the full results here.