12 parliamentary committees formed to scrutinise government legislation

Singapore Parliament House.
Singapore Parliament House.PHOTO: REUTERS

SINGAPORE - The People's Action Party (PAP) has unveiled its new line-up of backbencher committees that will scrutinise government legislation.

There will be 12 of these committees - known as government parliamentary committees (GPCs) - for the 13th Parliament of Singapore, which will first sit on Jan 15.

All the GPCs are helmed by veteran backbench Members of Parliament, but newly-elected MPs are serving as deputies in three committees.

They are: Mr Amrin Amin in the GPC for Defence and Foreign Affairs, Mr Chong Kee Hiong in the GPC for National Development, and Ms Sun Xueling in the GPC for Communications and Information.

This time round, there are also separate GPCs for the Ministry of National Development (MND) and the Ministry of the Environment and Water Resources. Previously, there was a combined GPC for both ministries.

The committees scrutinise the legislation and programmes of the various ministries, and act as an additional channel of feedback on government policies.

They comprise PAP backbenchers assigned to track and provide feedback on policy issues.

GPCs were mooted by then-Deputy Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong in 1987.