The 3 pillars of Asia's new security architecture

Asean, the Quad and Aukus-like minilateralism can all contribute to advancing a shared Indo-Pacific dream of peace, freedom of the seas, and independence, says the writer. PHOTO: ST FILE
New: Gift this subscriber-only story to your friends and family

Asean, the Quad and Aukus are the load-bearing pillars on which Indo-Pacific security will rest in the coming decades. The first is a norm-builder, the second a problem-solver, and the third a deterrent of military conflict.

This is Asia's new security architecture.

Already a subscriber? 

Read the full story and more at $9.90/month

Get exclusive reports and insights with more than 500 subscriber-only articles every month

Unlock these benefits

  • All subscriber-only content on ST app and

  • Easy access any time via ST app on 1 mobile device

  • E-paper with 2-week archive so you won't miss out on content that matters to you

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.