Taufik wins big at regional Malay music awards

Taufik Batisah

 Singaporean pop star Taufik Batisah showed last Friday night that he remains the one to beat at the regional Malay music awards show, Anugerah Planet Muzik (APM).

The 34-year-old singer was the biggest winner of the night, collecting four of the 19 awards given out.

This is the most number of nods he has received in a year at the ceremony.

Last year, as well as in 2007 and 2008, he bagged three awards in each year.

On Friday, Taufik, the first Singapore Idol champion, took home the Most Popular Song (Singapore) and APM Most Popular Song for his catchy hit #AwakKatMane (Where Are You), as well as the Most Popular Artiste (Singapore) and Social Media Icon awards.


  • Best NewArtiste (Male)

    Kunto Aji (Indonesia) for Terlalu Lama Sendiri

    Best New Artiste (Female)

    Elizabeth Tan (Malaysia) for Knock Knock

    Best Duo/Group

    Rossa & Afgan (Indonesia) for Kamu Yang Kutunggu

    Best Band

    Iman's League featuring The Lion Story (Singapore) for Lisa

    Best Collaboration (Artiste)

    Cakra Khan (Indonesia) & Siti Nurhaliza (Malaysia) for Seluruh Cinta

    Best Collaboration (Song)

    Jangan Coba Berlari by Sezairi (singer) and Tulus (composer and lyricist)

    Best Artiste (Male)

    Judika (Indonesia) for Apakah Ini Cinta

    Best Artiste (Female)

    Raisa (Indonesia) for Jatuh Hati

    Best Song (Singapore)

    Lisa by Iman's League featuring The Lion Story (singers), Haramain Osman (composer and lyricist), Ishyam Lal, Khairul Anhar, Judah Lyne and Iman (composers)

    Best Song (Malaysia)

    Assalamualaikum by Faizal Tahir (singer, composer and lyricist), Omar K., Ezra Kong, Audi Mok and Mike Chan (composers and lyricists)

    Best Song (Indonesia)

    Terlalu Lama Sendiri by Kunto Aji (singer, composer and lyricist)

    Best APM Song

    Assalamualaikum by Faizal Tahir

    Social Media Icon

    Taufik Batisah (Singapore)

    Most Popular Artiste (Singapore)

    Taufik Batisah

    Most Popular Song (Singapore)

    #AwakKatMane by Taufik Batisah

    APM Most Popular Song 

    #AwakKatMane by Taufik Batisah

    APM Most Popular Artiste

    Fatin Shidqia Lubis (Indonesia)

    International Breakthrough Artiste

    Anggun (Indonesia)

    Planet Music Special Award

    A. Ramlie And The Rhythm Boys (Singapore)

All of his awards were decided by fan votes submitted on the APM Facebook page.

Other Singapore singers and bands also fared well at the 14th edition of the awards show.

Punk-rock band Iman's League, a first-time nominee, won Best Band and Best Song (Singapore) for their head-banging track Lisa, which features fellow local pop-rock band The Lion Story.

Sezairi, another former Singapore Idol winner, bagged the Best Collaboration (Song) award for Jangan Coba Berlari .

The show paid tribute to A. Ramlie And The Rhythm Boys, an iconic Singaporean band in the 1960s during the Pop Yeh Yeh era. They received the Planet Music Special Award.

The awards show was jointly organised by MediaCorp's Malay Broadcast Division, Suria, radio stations Warna 94.2FM and Ria 89.7FM, as well as entertainment and lifestyle magazine Manja.

Other big winners included Indonesian singers Judika, who took the top prize for Best Male Artiste, and Raisa, who took the top prize for Best Female Artiste.

Malaysian crooner Faizal Tahir's hit Assalamualaikum earned him two awards, Best APM Song and Best Song (Malaysia).

About 4,000 fans attended the event held at Suntec Singapore.

A version of this article appeared in the print edition of The Straits Times on October 12, 2015, with the headline 'Taufik wins big at regional Malay music awards'. Print Edition | Subscribe