2017 Reuben Awards win for cartoonists Lynda Barry, Ann Telnaes

OREGON (WASHINGTON POST) - Lynda Barry and Ann Telnaes were marquee winners at the National Cartoonists Society's 71st annual Reuben Awards on Saturday evening in Portland, Oregon.

Barry, the Eisner Hall Of Fame cartoonist and creator of the alt-weekly strip Ernie Pook's Comeek, received the NCS's Milton Caniff Lifetime Achievement Award. The Simpsons creator Matt Groening, her friend since their 1970s days at Evergreen State College, presented her with the award during a black-tie ceremony at the Hilton Grand.

Barry, also an author and playwright, now teaches in the field of interdisciplinary creativity at the University of Wisconsin at Madison.

The evening's other big honour, the Reuben Award for outstanding cartoonist of the year, went to The Washington Post's Telnaes, who closely satirised the 2016 election with her animations and live sketches.

Telnaes, who is president of the Association Of American Editorial Cartoonists, won the Pulitzer Prize in 2001 and had also been recognised by the National Headliner Awards and the National Press Foundation.

The US$5,000 (S$6,935.50) Jay Kennedy Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Ruby Xia, an animation major at Sheridan College in Ontario, Canada.

Elsewhere, here are the recipients of the 2017 NCS Divisional Awards:

Feature Animation: Cory Loftis, Disney's Zootopia.

TV Animation: Chris Savino, Nickelodeon's The Loud House.

Editorial Cartoons: Mike Luckovich, the Atlanta Journal-Constitution.

Newspaper Comic Strip: Steve Kelley and Jeff Parker, Dustin, King Features.

Newspaper Panel Feature: Nick Galifianakis, Washington Post News Syndicate, Nick & Zuzu.

Newspaper Illustration: David Rowe, Australian Financial Review.

Magazine Illustration: Jon Adams.

Gag Cartoons: Will McPhail, The New Yorker.

Comic Book: Max Sarin and Liz Fleming, Giant Days.

Graphic Novel: Rick Geary, Black Dahlia.

Online Comics, Short Form: Ruben Bolling, Donald & John.

Online Comic, Long Form: Ngozi Ukazu, OMG Check Please.

Greeting Cards: Debbie Tomasi.

Advertising Illustration: Luke McGarry.

Book Illustration: Dave Whamond.

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.