Three must-read books by Oliver Sacks, writer who died aged 82 on Sunday

Dr Oliver Sacks.
Dr Oliver Sacks.PHOTO: AFP

Awakenings (1973)

Sacks' second book, about the successful treatment and dramatic recovery of patients with a sleeping sickness that left them asleep for decades, won him wide appeal among readers.

The book went on to inspire several dramatic adaptations, including a one-act play, A Kind Of Alaska (1982), by famed English playwright Harold Pinter. It also spawned an eponymous feature film in 1990, starring Robert De Niro and Robin Williams, which received three Academy Awards nominations.

The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat (1985)

Possibly Sacks' best-known work, this book is a collection of clinical stories about his patients who suffer from strange neurological and neuropsychiatric conditions. The bizarre case histories and Sack's sympathetic telling, which imbues the accounts with moving depth and human intensity, made it a best-seller.

The book also inspired operatic and theatrical productions in the 1980s and 1990s.

On The Move (2015)

This autobiography - and Sacks' last book - invites readers into Sacks' adult life and mind from the time he was a young neurologist in the 1960s. It lays open his struggles with drug addiction and his passions for weightlifting and swimming. It also includes insightful portraits of his relationships with close friends such as the prominent writer W.H. Auden and scientist Francis Crick.