New board members for National Heritage Board

The Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth (MCCY) has appointed four new members to the National Heritage Board (NHB) for a two-year term from Aug 1.

They are:

- Mrs Kelvyna Chan, Director (Curriculum Planning & Development) from the Ministry of Education;

- Mr Vincent Hoong, registrar at the Supreme Court of Singapore, former chief executive of the Singapore Land Authority and a member of NHB's Preservation of Sites and Monuments Advisory Board from 2005 to 2015;

- Dr Suriani Suratman, senior lecturer in the department of Malay Studies at the National Universiry of Singapore, who is also on the board of directors of the Malay Heritage Foundation and the National Gallery, Singapore; and

- Mr Tham Tuck Cheong, managing director of CIAP Architects, who has also been serving as chairman of the Preservation of Sites and Monuments Advisory Board since 2009.

They will be joining 10 other board members who have been reappointed for a further two-year term, including Mr Richard Eu, group chief executive officer of Eu Yan Sang International Limited; Mr Gaurav Kripalani, artistic director of the Singapore Repertory Theatre; and Associate Professor Derek Heng, head of studies for History at Yale-NUS College.

The board manages manages six national museums and four heritage institutions, and sets policies relating to heritage sites, monuments and the national collection.

Its chairman Mr Ong Yew Huat says: "Our incoming members will bring fresh insights and perspectives to strengthen NHB's role in heritage stewardship. Together with existing members, I look forward to working with them."

Three members will also be leaving the board. They are:

- Ms Chang Hwee Nee, Deputy Secretary (Planning) at the Ministry of National Development;

- Ms Ho Peng, Advisor, Ministry of Education; and

- Mrs Lee Suet Fern, managing partner at Morgan Lewis Stamford LLC.

Ms Yeoh Chee Yan, Permanent Secretary at MCCY, thanked the outgoing members of the board, and said the new members' "vast experience and expertise" will contribute to the board's "capabilities in heritage preservation, outreach and community engagement".