European Union officially greenlights Latvia as 18th euro zone state

BRUSSELS (AFP) - Economy and finance ministers from the 28 European Union countries gave the final green light to Latvia on Tuesday to join the euro zone on January 1 next year.

"Ecofin has taken final decision approving Latvia's euro membership from 2014," the EU's current Lithuanian presidency announced via its Twitter account.

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.