Indonesian president Joko Widodo names 34-member Cabinet

Indonesian President Joko Widodo (2nd L) announces his Cabinet next to First Lady Iriana Joko Widodo (L), Vice President Jusuf Kalla (2nd R) and his spouse Mufidah Jusuf Kalla at the presidential palace in Jakarta on Oct 26, 2014. -- PHOTO: AFP
Indonesian President Joko Widodo (2nd L) announces his Cabinet next to First Lady Iriana Joko Widodo (L), Vice President Jusuf Kalla (2nd R) and his spouse Mufidah Jusuf Kalla at the presidential palace in Jakarta on Oct 26, 2014. -- PHOTO: AFP

JAKARTA -President Joko "Jokowi" Widodo has unveiled a 34-member Cabinet comprising technocrats and party politicians as he sought to strike a balance between picking best people to implement much-needed reforms, and rewarding parties who backed him in the July elections.

Among the key appointees was Coordinating Economic Minister Dr Sofyan Djalil, 61, who had served as communications minister and then state-owned enterprise minister during former President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono's first term from 2004 to 2009.

Former navy chief Tedjo Edhy Purdijatno, 62, was named Coordinating Minister for Political, Legal and Security Affairs. He was a key member of the National Democratic (NasDem) Party which backed Mr Joko's presidential bid and he heads the party's East Java chapter.

Ms Retno Marsudi, 52, was named Foreign Minister while Ms Puan Maharani, 41, daughter of former President Megawati Sukarnoputri, was named Coordinating Minister for Human Development and Culture.

Here's the list of all 34 appointments:

1.State Secretariat: Dr Pratikno, 52, rector of Gadjah Mada University

2.National Development Planning Minister: Dr Andrinof Chaniago, 51 (University of Indonesia public policy academic)

3.Coordinating Minister for Maritime Affairs: Dr Indroyono Susilo, 59 (director for fisheries and aquaculture at the UN Food and Agriculture Organisation)

4. Transport Minister: Mr Ignasius Jonan, 51 (CEO of state-owned railway company Kereta Api Indonesia)

5. Maritime and Fisheries: Ms Susi Pudjiastuti, 49, president director of Susi Air

6. Tourism Minister: Mr Arief Yahya, 53 (CEO of state-owned telco PT Telkom)

7. Energy and Mineral Resources Minister: Mr Sudirman Said, 51 (CEO of state-owned defence manufacturer PT Pindad)

8. Coordinating Minister for Political, Legal and Security Affairs: Retired Admiral Tedjo Edhy Purdijatno, 62 (former Navy chief)

9. Home Affairs Minister: Mr Tjahjo Kumolo, 56 (PDI-P secretary-general)

10. Foreign Minister: Ms Retno LP Marsudi, 52 (Ambassador to the Netherlands)

11. Defence Minister: Retired General Ryamizard Ryacudu, 64 (Former army chief)

12. Law and Human Rights Minister: Dr Yasonna Laoly, 61, former university law dean

13. Communications and Information Minister: Mr Rudiantara, 55 (Indosat commissioner)

14. State Apparatus and Bureaucracy Reform Minister: Mr Yuddy Chrisnandi, 46 (Hanura politician)

15. Coordinating Minister for the Economy: Dr Sofyan Djalil, 61 (Former state-owned enterprise Minister)

16. Finance Minister: Dr Bambang Brodjonegoro, 48 (outgoing vice-finance minister)

17. State-owned enterprises: Ms Rini M.Soemarno, 56, former trade and industry minister

18. Cooperative and small and medium enterprises Minister: Dr AAGN Puspayoga, 49 (former Bali deputy governor)

19. Industry Minister: Mr Saleh Husin, 51 (Hanura politician)

20. Trade Minister: Mr Rachmat Gobel, 52 (Chairman of Panasonic Gobel group)

21. Agriculture Minister: Mr Amran Sulaiman, 46 (CEO of Tiran group)

22. Manpower Minister: Mr Hanif Dhakiri, 53, (National Awakening Party (PKB) politician)

23. Public Works and Housing Minister: Dr Basuki Hadimuljono, 59 (former director-general at public works ministry)

24. Environment and Forestry Minister: Dr Siti Nurbaya, 58 (former secretary-general at Home Affairs Ministry)

25. Agrarian and spatial planning Minister: Mr Ferry Mursyidan Baldan, 53 (National Democratic (Nasdem) Party politician)

26. Coordinating Minister for human development and culture: Ms Puan Maharani, 41 (former leader of PDI-P's parliamentary group)

27. Religious Affairs Minister: Lukman Hakim Saifuddin, 51 (United Development Party(PPP) politician)

28. Health Minister: Dr Nila F Moeloek, 65 (senior ophthalmologist and special envoy for millennium development goals)

29. Social Affairs Minister: Ms Khofifah Indar Parawansa, 49 (PKB politician and former women's minister)

30. Women's empowerment and child protection Minister: Dr Yohana Yembise, 56 (academic)

31. Culture and Primary and Secondary Education Minister: Dr Anies Baswedan, 45 (paramadina University rector)

32. Research, Technology and Higher Education Minister : Muhammad Nasir, 54 (Diponegoro University rector)

33. Youth and Sports Minister: Mr Imam Nahrawi, 41 (PKB politician)

34. Villages, lesser developed regions and transmigration Minister: Mr Marwan Jafar, 43 (PKB politician)

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.