Another Umno splinter party

A new political party that sought registration yesterday will be yet another splinter of the 70-year-old United Malays National Organisation or Umno. The following parties were set up in the aftermath of Umno leadership tussles.

• Parti Islam SeMalaysia (PAS) - formed in 1951 when members from Umno's ulama (Islamic clerics) wing broke away amid nationalism versus religion debates. PAS today controls Kelantan state and has 14 MPs in the 222-seat federal Parliament.

• Parti Negara (National Party) - formed in 1954 by an Umno founder and its first president Onn Jaafar, the father of Malaysia's second prime minister Hussein Onn and the grandfather of Defence Minister Hishammuddin Hussein. The party died a natural death with the 1962 passing of Datuk Onn Jaafar.

• Parti Melayu Semangat 46 (Spirit of 46 Malay Party) - led by former finance chief Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah after losing a 1987 tussle with Dr Mahathir Mohamad. Semangat 46 - named after the year Umno was born, in 1946 - closed down in 1996 with Tengku rejoining Umno.

• Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) - headed by former deputy PM Anwar Ibrahim, it was formed as Parti Keadilan Nasional following his 1998 sacking from Umno by Dr Mahathir. PKR today leads the Selangor state government and has 29 MPs in Parliament.

• Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia - applied for registration yesterday. It will be chaired by Dr Mahathir, with ex-deputy premier Muhyiddin Yassin as president.

A version of this article appeared in the print edition of The Straits Times on August 10, 2016, with the headline 'Another Umno splinter party'. Print Edition | Subscribe