Malaysia votes

5 Battleground states

Both parliamentary and state seats are up for grabs in Malaysia's general election, with parties vying to control the federal government and 12 of 13 state assemblies. Sarawak's state seats will not be contested as it held its state election in 2016.

Three states - Kelantan, Penang and Selangor - are held by federal opposition parties. While the four-party Pakatan Harapan (PH) alliance is expected to retain Penang, ruling coalition Barisan Nasional (BN) will pitch fierce fights for Selangor, the other state administered by PH.

Please or to continue reading the full article. Learn more about ST PREMIUM.

Enjoy unlimited access to ST's best work

  • Exclusive stories and features on multiple devices
  • In-depth analyses and opinion pieces
  • ePaper and award-winning multimedia content
A version of this article appeared in the print edition of The Straits Times on April 07, 2018, with the headline '5 Battleground states '. Print Edition | Subscribe