NLD names nominees for key posts

BANGKOK • Ms Aung San Suu Kyi's National League for Democracy (NLD) has announced its first picks for key positions in Myanmar's new government, naming leaders for both Houses of Parliament ahead of the first legislative session on Feb 1.

Since ousting the military-backed government in historic November elections, the NLD had been silent about who would lead Cabinet ministries, control the legislature and hold other top jobs. The most-anticipated decision is who the NLD will put forward as president, a position Ms Suu Kyi is constitutionally barred from holding.

She has pledged to run the government and remain above the president. Her choice of a figurehead to hold the post may not be known for more than a month.

The NLD will nominate Mr Mahn Win Khaing Than - the grandson of a Cabinet minister assassinated alongside Ms Suu Kyi's father in 1947 - as chairman of the Upper House of Parliament, senior party member Win Htein told reporters yesterday. If the NLD follows the established rotation between the two Houses, Mr Mahn Win Khaing Than, 63, will also become Speaker of the combined Parliament.

Mr Win Myint, 64, will be the party's choice as chairman of the Lower House. He serves on the NLD's central executive committee. Legislative approval of the two chairmen is practically assured as the NLD holds a majority in both Houses.


A version of this article appeared in the print edition of The Straits Times on January 29, 2016, with the headline 'NLD names nominees for key posts'. Print Edition | Subscribe