Japan becomes second country after Mexico to ratify TPP-11 deal

Japan will host working-level talks at the resort town of Hakone, from July 17 to 19, 2018.
New: Gift this subscriber-only story to your friends and family

Japan became the second country to ratify the revised Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) trade deal yesterday, the same day the United States imposed the first round of prohibitive tariffs on some Chinese goods in a move many fear will lead to a drawn-out trade war.

The 11-nation revised deal - known as the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for the Trans-Pacific Partnership, or the TPP-11, following President Donald Trump's decision to pull the US out of the original deal shortly after he assumed office - will go into effect 60 days after it is ratified by six member countries.

Already a subscriber? 

Read the full story and more at $9.90/month

Get exclusive reports and insights with more than 500 subscriber-only articles every month

Unlock these benefits

  • All subscriber-only content on ST app and straitstimes.com

  • Easy access any time via ST app on 1 mobile device

  • E-paper with 2-week archive so you won't miss out on content that matters to you

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.

A version of this article appeared in the print edition of The Straits Times on July 07, 2018, with the headline Japan becomes second country after Mexico to ratify TPP-11 deal. Subscribe