I'll speak to Cazorla about 'dive', says Wenger
LONDON (AFP) - Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger has confirmed he will review his side's opening penalty in the 2-0 win against West Bromwich Albion and speak to Santi Cazorla if he believes the Spaniard dived.
Cazorla went over in the 26th minute at the Emirates Stadium on Saturday despite replays suggesting he was not touched by Steven Reid. Mikel Arteta scored from the spot and added a second penalty after half-time when Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain was tripped by Chris Brunt.
Wenger, when asked if he will speak to Cazorla after watching replays, said: "Of course. I will look at it, don't worry." Wenger admitted Arsenal were fortunate to get their first penalty, with the game looking even until referee Mike Jones awarded the spot-kick. "We were a bit lucky maybe on the first penalty because he could have given it or not given it," he said.
"I am sorry if it was not a penalty, but I have spoken to Santi and he said he has been touched and lost his balance. Maybe he made more of it, I don't know. It's a difficult decision - it can go against you, (but) it went for us in this game. That's what it is. What I mean is, when he (a player) is touched, he goes down, the referee can give or not give the penalty."