The Straits Times
Published on Nov 06, 2012

2013 S-League to kick-off with 12 teams, new format


THE 2013 Great Eastern-YEO'S S-League looks will kick-off with 12 teams, after Gomak United's pull-out was confirmed on Tuesday evening.

In a 30-minute press conference at Football Association of Singapore headquarters at the Jalan Besar Stadium, several other changes were also announced for next season.

The most significant is a new competition format, which will see the league split into two groups of six, based on their ranking at the end of the regular two-round season. The teams will then play off within their respective groups - 1st to 6th and 7th to 12th - to determine the final league standings.

Other changes include an increase in the foreign player quota from four to five, a change in the league's mandatory fitness test from the beep test to a 2.4km run, as well as an increase in prize money.