Downtown Line Stage 1 to open on Dec 22

The first stage of the Downtown Line will open on Dec 22, providing commuters with more connections to get around the city centre.

Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew announced the opening date as he unveiled the Land Transport Masterplan 2013 - a refreshed version of the plan that was last set out in 2008.

The first stage of the Downtown Line will see six stations open for service. The stations are Bugis, Promenade, Bayfront, Downtown, Telok Ayer and Chinatown. These stations will link with three other MRT lines - the Circle Line, North East Line and East-West Line - enhancing connectivity in the city area. The second stage of the 42km line is due to open in 2016, and the third stage in 2017.

Mr Lui was speaking at the opening ceremony of the inaugural Singapore International Transport Congress and Exhibition, which is jointly organized by the Land Transport Authority and International Association of Public Transport (UITP).

Register here to get free digital access to The Straits Times until Aug 9, 2015.