Saturday, May 23, 2015Saturday, May 23, 2015

New sanctions on Russia over Ukraine crisis as early as next week

Published on Apr 26, 2014 10:09 AM
A pro-Russian armed man stands guard as local residents wait near the mayor's office in Slaviansk on April 25, 2014. The Group of Seven countries have agreed that they will impose new sanctions on Russia over the crisis in Ukraine, a statement said today. -- PHOTO: REUTERS

SEOUL (REUTERS) - The leaders of the Group of Seven (G7) major economies agreed on Saturday to swiftly impose further sanctions on Russian individuals over the Ukraine crisis, and the United States could unveil its new punitive measures as early as Monday, officials said.

"We, the leaders of Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom, the United States, the President of the European Council and the President of the European Commission, join in expressing our deep concern at the continued efforts by separatists backed by Russia to destabilise eastern Ukraine,"the G7 statement said.

"We have now agreed that we will move swiftly to impose additional sanctions on Russia," it said.

A senior US official said each G7 country would decide which targeted sanctions to implement and while the measures would be coordinated, they would not necessarily be identical.

Enjoy 2 weeks of unlimited digital access to The Straits Times. Get your free access now!