Thursday, Jun 4, 2015Thursday, Jun 4, 2015
World Cup 2014

Argentina v Germany: The World Cup encounters

Published on Jul 10, 2014 7:21 PM

They are two previous owners of the World Cup and one of them will reclaim it on Monday when they meet in Rio de Janeiro's Maracana Stadium to decide the 2014 final. Previous World Cup meetings between Argentina and Germany have produced thrillers and stinkers, great players and villains of equal magnitude and they have done battle in iconic stadiums in Mexico City, Rome and Berlin.

Here is a look at the six previous meetings between them.

1958 - Malmo Stadion, Sweden

Argentina 1 - West Germany 3 (group stage)

The Cold War was on but the rivalry between Argentina and what was still known as West Germany was starting to warm up in their first World Cup meeting 56 years ago in Sweden. West Germany were the defending champions but Argentina took an early lead against when striker Omar Corbatta scored after just three minutes. However, the Germans rallied to hit back through two goals from Helmut Rahn and another from Uwe Seeler. The South Americans eventually finished bottom of their group while West Germany progressed to the semi-finals, losing 3-1 to hosts Sweden.

1966 - Villa Park, England

Argentina 0 - West Germany 0 (group stage)

Another World Cup, another meeting. But goals were non-existent in a 0-0 in Birmingham. Both countries went on to meet hosts England, with Argentina losing 1-0 in an ill-tempered quarter-finals and the Germans going down 4-2 after extra-time in the final at Wembley.

1986 - Estadio Azteca, Mexico

Argentina 3 - West Germany 2 (final)

Mexico City's Estadio Azteca had already witnessed three classic World Cup moments - The see-saw Italy-West Germany semi-final in 1970 that ended with the Azzurri winning 4-3, the 1970 final which starred Pele's great Brazil team and Diego Maradona's solo goal against England. The 1986 final became the fourth great spectacle inside the bowl that held more than 100,000 spectators. After Argentina powered into a two-goal lead through defender Jose Luis Brown and striker Jorge Valdano, the Germans staged a trademark comeback through goals from strikers Karl-Heinz Rummenige and Rudi Voeller. But with seven minutes left, Maradona sent the perfect through pass for midfielder Jorge Burruchaga to slot home the winner and cemented the No.10's reputation as the best footballer of his generation.

1990 - Stadio Olimpico, Italy

Argentina 0 - West Germany 1 (final)

Defending champions Argentina limped into the 1990 final for a repeat meeting with West Germany, who played in their final tournament before reunification, but this match will go down as one of the worst final in history. There were fouls and dives aplenty and not much football was played as Argentina's Pedro Monzon and Gustavo Dezotti became the first men to be red-carded in a World Cup final. Somewhat fittingly for an ugly finale, it was decided by a piece of gamesmanship when Rudi Voeller dived to win a penalty, which was converted by Andreas Brehme in the 85th minute.

2006 - Olympiastadion, Germany

Argentina 1 - Germany 1, Germany win 4-2 on penalties (quarter-final)

The next instalment of the Argentina-Germany clash came in the 2006 tournament which the Germans hosted. But it was defender Roberto Ayala who headed La Albiceleste into the lead in Berlin. Miroslav Klose equalised with 10 minutes remaining with a diving header. The match went to a shoot-out, which was made famous by goalkeeper Jens Lehmann, who had studied how the Argentinian players place their penalties and managed to save from Ayala and Esteban Cambiasso while the Germans converted all four of their kicks.

2010 - Cape Town Stadium, South Africa

Argentina 0 - Germany 4 (quarter-final)

There was an air of nostalgia in Cape Town when Maradona returned to lead Argentina from the dugout but sadly for him, the Germans have evolved into a modern team playing attractive attacking football. And so it proved when the South Americans were comprehensively battered in this last eight tie as a brace from Klose and goals from forward Thomas Mueller and defender Arne Friedrich sent Maradona, Lionel Messi and gang packing.