Sunday, May 24, 2015Sunday, May 24, 2015

Motorcycling: Marquez makes it 10 out of 10 at Indianapolis

Published on Aug 11, 2014 3:19 AM
Honda MotoGP rider Marc Marquez of Spain reacts while walking on the podium after winning the Indianapolis GP in Indianapolis August 10, 2014, becoming the first man in 17 years to win 10 successive races. -- PHOTO: REUTERS

INDIANAPOLIS (AFP) - World champion Marc Marquez became the first man in 17 years to win 10 successive races as the Spaniard claimed victory at the Indianapolis Grand Prix on Sunday.

Honda rider Marquez, 21, finished ahead of Yamaha pair, Jorge Lorenzo of Spain and Italian Valentino Rossi.

The last man to win 10 races in a row was Australian Mick Doohan in 1997.

Marquez also won this race in 2013 when he was making his maiden appearance in the elite class having also triumphed at the Brickyard in Moto2 in 2011 and 2012.

Enjoy 2 weeks of unlimited digital access to The Straits Times. Get your free access now!