Monday, Apr 27, 2015Monday, Apr 27, 2015

Five Singaporeans receive President's Scholarship

Published on Aug 13, 2014 9:24 PM
President's Scholarship recipients (from left) Eugene Lim Zhi Wei, Brendan Dean Zhi Min, Lee Zi Xin, Arturo Neo and Tommy Koh Kit Shaun. -- ST PHOTO: DESMOND WEE 

SINGAPORE - Five young Singaporeans were awarded the prestigious President's Scholarship this year at a ceremony at the Istana on Wednesday evening.

They are Mr Arturo Neo, 19, from Hwa Chong Institution; Mr Brendan Dean Zhi Min, 20, from NUS High School; and three other 19-year-old alumni of Raffles Institution - Mr Tommy Koh Kit Shaun, Miss Lee Zi Xin, and Mr Eugene Lim Zhi Wei.

Mr Neo is the only recipient who will further his studies in Singapore. He will read Medicine at the National University of Singapore.

The rest will be going to the United States. Mr Dean will read biological sciences at Harvard University, Mr Koh will read either political science or psychology at Johns Hopkins University, Miss Lee will read economics at the University of Pennsylvania, and Mr Lim will read global affairs at Yale University.

The scholarship recipients are picked by the Public Service Commission for their outstanding academic and co-curricular achievements, character, and leadership potential. They are the latest in a long line of President's Scholars, going back to 1966.

At the ceremony on Wednesday, President Tony Tan Keng Yam congratulated the recipients and told them to exercise "integrity, courage and commitment".

"As public servants, you must engage the public constructively... hear the voices of our citizens and keep an open mind to the increasingly diverse views that Singaporeans hold," he said.