Tuesday, Jun 30, 2015Tuesday, Jun 30, 2015

Liow Tiong Lai named Malaysia transport minister; reshuffle includes other MCA and Gerakan reps

Published on Jun 25, 2014 1:49 PM
(From left) Wee Ka Siong, Liow Tiong Lai and Mah Siew Keong. -- PHOTOS: THE STAR/ASIA NEWS NETWORK

PUTRAJAYA - Malaysian Chinese Association (MCA) president Liow Tiong Lai has been appointed the new Transport Minister, Prime Minister Najib Razak announced on Wednesday.

His deputy Wee Ka Siong and Gerakan president Mah Siew Keong have been appointed Ministers in the Prime Minister's Department, Mr Najib said at a press conference.

Three MCA vice-presidents were appointed deputy ministers: Mr Lee Chee Leong, deputy minister for international trade and industry; Mr Chua Tee Yong, deputy finance minister; and Ms Chew Mei Fun, deputy minister for women and family development.

"Representatives from MCA are returning to represent the Chinese community, and representatives from Gerakan are returning to the Cabinet," Mr Najib said when unveiling the additions to the current line-up.

Enjoy 2 weeks of unlimited digital access to The Straits Times. Get your free access now!