Wenger questions penalty call after FA Cup draw
Published on Jan 7, 2013 9:03 AM
SWANSEA, United Kingdom (AFP) - Arsene Wenger claimed Arsenal should have had a penalty before the frantic finale that saw his side held to a 2-2 draw at Swansea City in the FA Cup third round.
With the game goalless, after 51 minutes, Wales midfielder Aaron Ramsey appeared to be caught by Dwight Tiendalli as he broke into the Swansea penalty area. Referee Howard Webb turned down the appeals, with television replays suggesting Ramsey had caught his own trailing leg as he chased the ball.
At the outset, even Swansea manager Michael Laudrup feared that Webb might have got it wrong. "On the bench my initial reaction was that it was a penalty, but I have not seen it again after the game," said the Dane.
Arsenal manager Wenger told reporters: "It was a penalty and the referee saw it. You know why he did not give it? Because he thought the guy (Tiendalli) had not done it on purpose, and I think as well it was accidental, but he did not trip himself - he was caught clearly by the leg of the Swansea player. The referee hesitated and he did not give it."
To continue reading, log in if you are a subscriber
Enjoy 2 weeks of unlimited digital access to The Straits Times. Get your free access now!