Friday, Oct 31, 2014Friday, Oct 31, 2014
News
 

Cricket: Windies' wicketkeeper Ramdin penalised for claiming dropped catch

Published on Jun 10, 2013 10:48 PM
 
West Indies' wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin (above) celebrates his wicket of Pakistan's Kamran Akmal during their ICC Champions Trophy group B cricket match at the Oval cricket ground in London on June 7, 2013. Ramdin was on Monday, June 10, 2013, suspended for two one-day matches and fined 100 per cent of his match fees for wrongly claiming a catch in the Champions Trophy. -- FILE PHOTO: AP

LONDON (AFP) - West Indies' wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin was on Monday suspended for two one-day matches and fined 100 per cent of his match fees for wrongly claiming a catch in the Champions Trophy.

Match referee Chris Broad charged Ramdin with violating the spirit of the game following a hearing in London after the wicketkeeper had pleaded not guilty to the offence.

"This is regarded as a serious offence as it is the responsibility of all players to act in the spirit of the game," Broad said in a statement released by the International Cricket Council.

"I hope Ramdin has learnt his lesson from this incident and that we will not see such behaviour by him or any player in the future."

 
If you are not a subscriber, you can get instant, unlimited access here