Cricket: Windies' wicketkeeper Ramdin penalised for claiming dropped catch
Published on Jun 10, 2013 10:48 PM
LONDON (AFP) - West Indies' wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin was on Monday suspended for two one-day matches and fined 100 per cent of his match fees for wrongly claiming a catch in the Champions Trophy.
Match referee Chris Broad charged Ramdin with violating the spirit of the game following a hearing in London after the wicketkeeper had pleaded not guilty to the offence.
"This is regarded as a serious offence as it is the responsibility of all players to act in the spirit of the game," Broad said in a statement released by the International Cricket Council.
"I hope Ramdin has learnt his lesson from this incident and that we will not see such behaviour by him or any player in the future."
To continue reading, log in if you are a subscriber
Enjoy 2 weeks of unlimited digital access to The Straits Times. Get your free access now!