Monday, Apr 21, 2014Monday, Apr 21, 2014

Cricket: James Anderson, Hashim Amla and Michael Clarke vying for 2 top ICC awards

Published on Dec 3, 2013 5:28 PM

MUMBAI (AFP) - England's James Anderson, South Africa's Hashim Amla and Australia's Michael Clarke are nominated for top honours in this year's International Cricket Council awards, it was announced today.

The trio will vie for both the cricketer of the year and Test player of the year categories, according to a short-list released by the ICC in Mumbai.

Others nominated for the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for cricketer of the year are England captain Alastair Cook, India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Kumar Sangakkara of Sri Lanka.

In the category of Test player of the year, the other nominees are South Africa's Dale Steyn and the Indian duo of Ravichandran Ashwin and Cheteshwar Pujara.

If you are not a subscriber, you can get instant, unlimited access here