Monday, May 25, 2015Monday, May 25, 2015

Thailand declares 15 provinces drought disaster zones

Published on Feb 27, 2014 3:43 PM

BANGKOK - Villages in 15 provinces have been declared drought disaster zones in need of urgent help.

Disaster Prevention and Mitigation Department chief Chatchai Promlert made the announcement on Thursday, The Bangkok Post reported.

The newspaper said the 15 provinces are in the north (Uttaradit, Sukhothai, Phrae and Tak); north-east (Buri Ram, Maha Sarakham, Khon Kaen and Si Sa Ket); central (Sing Buri, Saraburi and Chai Nat); east (Chachoengsao, Chanthaburi and Prachin Buri); and the south (Trang).

The report quoted Mr Chatchai as saying his department had prepared officials and equipment including water trucks and water pumps to be dispatched to drought-hit areas to provide relief assistance.

Enjoy 2 weeks of unlimited digital access to The Straits Times. Get your free access now!